We were here
Visiting Austin

Our focus of the Austin stop was to check out the music scene.  Luckily, we found a LaQuinta (dog friendly) within walking distance to 6th street where all the clubs are located.  It reminded me a lot of Bourbon Street, maybe a little less smelly.

The street is lined with clubs and bars, most with live music starting in the afternoon and lasting until the wee hours of the morning.  Of course we had to find a good barbecue place for dinner and Stubb’s fit the bill.  I had seen Stubb’s  listed as one of the top music venues in the country.  They didn’t have anyone interesting when we were there but the barbecue was awesome!

We started our next day with a visit to the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library a short distance away on the UT campus.  The library underwent a major renovation a few years ago.  The exhibits were interesting and very well done.  The 60’s were more Skip’s era than mine but so many things brought back memories for me as well.

LBJ's pens
LBJ’s pens

Studying the presidents and their wives
Studying the presidents and their wives

LBJ
LBJ

Signed by Abe
Signed by Abe

Favorite memories of my youth
I loved Spirograph. My sister had white patent leather gogo boots that she let me wear sometimes. I have a picture somewhere…

Loved Twister too!
I loved Twister too.

IMG_0661
Here’s the evidence – playing Twister in our backyard with neighbors Peg and Doug and disinterested Alan.

We just read her book
What a surprise to see this display. We just listened to her book about hiking the Pacific Coast Trail on the way to Austin.  It was very entertaining.

We also visited the State Capitol building where most of the rooms were closed for renovations. Once inside I remembered that I had been here before, years ago when I went to Austin for work. I was not thrilled about that trip since I would be away for our 3rd wedding anniversary. The staff in the office I visited were very gracious and took me around after work to see the city.

State Capitol - largest in the US
Impressive Capitol and beautiful grounds

Rotunda floor
Rotunda Floor

Looking up
Looking up

Yes, we're in Texas
In case you have any doubt where you are

Old in new reflection
Old mixed with new

In the evening we heard a blues band play before heading over to Moonshine for dinner. Thanks Dan & Donna for the recommendation – it was great. Skip tried the cucumber mint moonshine. I stayed safe with white wine!

Today we drove to Clovis, NM. Tomorrow, Taos!

BTW, thanks to Chris and Janet who are staying at our house and keeping our pool from getting too lonely!

