Think of this as a commercial break from my sailing blog.  I’ll get back to writing about sailing…real soon!

Here are some of the things we worked on this winter while taking a break from cruising:

We painted our guest bedroom:
Winter projects
It was a rather bold purplish color before. We were amazed at how easy it was to cover with the new kind of paint that includes primer. It really only took one coat!

Winter projects
We kept the original furniture. I bought the headboard online and the mirror at Lowe’s.

Winter projects
I replaced the curtains and rug in our kitchen sunroom.

Winter projects
I ordered the rug from Ballard Designs. I like that it looks like Italian tiles.

Winter projects
I stripped the wallpaper from our little powder room and painted the walls Belgian Chocolate. It looked so good in the can that I wanted to eat it!

Winter projects
Our living room was the biggest project. Painting was exhausting. You don’t realize how much more time it takes to paint rooms with high ceilings and crown molding.

Winter projects
I bought a slip cover for the sofa since the prince spends most of his time on it. This is version #3. The 2 previous purchases didn’t work color-wise.  If you look really close in the previous picture you’ll see the protective vinyl I put on the sofa arm to keep it from getting torn up when the mailman drives by.

Winter projects
I haven’t found a chair that I like yet so I moved this one from our bedroom and replaced the cushion. I also want to paint the little cabinet in the corner.

Winter projects
The main feature is this new console cabinet that Skip built. He used cherry for the top, drawers and shelf and painted the rest. I still need to find some baskets for the bottom and decorative items for the top. I love it!

Winter projects
New cabinet and mosaic mirror that I found in Pier 1.

Winter projects
Trying hard to be ‘crafty’ I spray painted this lamp a nice bronze and replaced the shade.

Winter projects
Shopping online for a picture was a challenge. So many choices and so difficult to visualize. This one is a painting of Portofino. We liked the bright colors. It’s rather big! I recommend that if you buy a print online that you also have them frame it. This one cost a small fortune at Joanns even with a 55% off coupon (what a scam!)

Winter projects
Bailey was afraid of the new picture at first. He doesn’t like new things that weren’t there before!

Winter projects
The happy decorator

Winter projects
I like my new living room.

Bailey and his friends
Bailey and his favorite toys–sheepie and birdie

Some people may think that I’m spending way too much time watching The Nate Berkus show and Color Splash!  (I probably am but love those shows.)

I can guarantee that my next blog post will contain at least one sailboat photo and plenty of beach scenes!

