We awoke to dreary cool weather.  It’s raining pretty good now…glad we’re staying at a marina so I can plug in the heater!  I did some laundry this morning and cleaned up the boat a bit.  Skip checked the raw water filter to make sure we didn’t suck up any mud from our grounding incident.  All looks good!  I love staying at the Belhaven Waterway marina.  The bathrooms are so clean and the laundry is very convenient.  We’re tied up next to a nice plot of grass where Bailey can run around and chase his tennis ball.  Owners Les and Brenda come out to help you tie up and they even have large fenders already lining the docks.  They also have a screened-in gazebo with comfy sofa and chairs where you sit out and enjoy the evening. 

We had a delicious lunch at the Back Bay Cafe.  We had dinner here last year.  They’re only open for dinner on the weekends so lunch was our only option.  The split pea soup was, dare I say, better than my grandmother’s.  I also had the special quiche–pumpkin with spinach and cheese.  It tasted like dessert but that didn’t stop me from having the turtle cheesecake..oh my was that good!

Short hair
Short hair
Shorter hair
Shorter hair

Since it’s a slow news day, I’ll post some pictures of us with our sleek new haircuts.  Skip’s hair is shorter than I’ve ever seen.  (Sorry Jen, no ponytail for a while.)  Not to worry…it will grow back!

 

 

 

 

Here are some pictures of our V-berth outfitted for both warm and cool weather.  On warm nights, I use the quilt I made with the fabrics I bought in the Bahamas.  On cool nights, I have a wonderfully warm wool blanket that was a gift from my aunt Dorothy.  She told us that she bought the blankets in Italy.  They are perfectly nautical for the boat!

Summer look
Summer lookCooler weather
Cool weather blanket
Cool weather blanket
If the weather is okay, we’ll head to Oriental tomorrow…
