Today is the day!!  All boat projects are completed, the house is ready for our house sitter, there’s a nip in the air…must be time to leave!  Our friend Eva is picking us up this afternoon and taking us to the boat.  Before heading south, we’re going north to attend the Sabre rendezvous in the Chester river.  Sailing conditions look good for going north tomorrow and south on Sunday (if you can believe the weather reports;-)

What a quick summer!  We reconnected with many of our friends and family.  It was so wonderful to see everyone and regale them with tales of our adventures.  Bailey has truly enjoyed his ‘sofa time’ at home…he has no idea what’s in store for him again!

Jen and Bill

We had a lovely visit to Denver in August, spending a few nights with fellow cruisers Mike and Angie (Lady of Lorien) who have a cabin near South Park.  It was such a pleasure meeting 2 of their daughters and their families…we felt like we knew them already after hearing so much about them.  Afterwards, we spent the week in Denver with Skip’s daughter Jen and her husband Bill.  While Jen and I took long walks with our ‘grand-dog’ Jackson, shopped and ate out, Skip and Bill worked on a woodworking project building a craftman-style mantle for their fireplace.  The fireplace project is impressive — new handmade tiles and a trap door from which the large flat screen TV raises from the floor–amazing!

 

Mike, Angie and Skip
Mike, Angie and Skip
David and Lorrie
David and Lorrie

We also took a side trip to Laramie Wyoming to visit cousins David & Lorrie whom we haven’t seen in probably 15 years.  They took us on a grand tour of Laramie, a lovely little college town and very Western.  We really enjoyed their hospitality (I hope Lorrie figured out how to read my blog:o)

On Labor Day weekend, we sailed to the Wye River on the Eastern shore of the Chesapeake bay for a fantastic Sabre club crab feast at Mike & Julie’s home.  The food and company were amazing!  Eva and I enjoyed a yoga session led by Julie the next morning (she’s a fabulous instructor!)  We were going to stay anchored out one more night but dark clouds and impending storms drove us back to the marina.

Beth, me and Cindy
Beth, me and Cindy

 

My highschool girlfriends wanted to get together but it didn’t work out for all of us.  The 3 ‘east coast’ girls got together for lunch in Annapolis.  It was so much fun seeing them again–it felt like we were just together yesterday!

My Mom was in town for a week in September.  I didn’t see much of her as she was busy visiting friends and family.  It’s great that she still enjoys traveling and reminiscing with her sisters.  When I took her to the airport last Tuesday I told her that it will take us 2 months to get to Florida instead of  ac2 hour flight!  Not that I mind, the meandering trip and lack of schedule are the high points of cruising for me.

 

Sailboat quilt
Sailboat quilt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wrapped up my quilting projects….didn’t get nearly as much done as I would have liked.  I did complete my sailboat quilt that I started over 15 years ago.  I also made a small quilt with the batik fabrics that I bought in the Bahamas.  I had so much fun that I was reluctant to put away my machine and fabrics.  I put together one small box of potential projects that I can do on the boat using hand-sewing.  My friend Carla who I met on the waterway (well, didn’t actually meet but we did pass each other on boats!) sent me some great ideas for small quilting projects.  I added her blog to my list of links — her projects are so beautiful.  Best of all, she and her husband are learning to sail and want to cruise in a few years! 

Bahamas quilt top
Bahamas quilt top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a few hours, we’ll be leaving home until next spring.  I apologize to everyone who I didn’t get to see this summer or those that I didn’t have a chance to catch up with again.  Please follow my blog, write lots of comments and keep in touch!

