st-marys-anchorageWe anchored in St Mary’s harbor for 3 days to attend the Thanksgiving festivities hosted by the town.  About 100 cruising boats showed up for the Thanksgiving meal along with numerous happy hours and other events.  The weather was nice and sunny but still on the chilly side.  Yesterday, I took a ride on a van provided by the local townspeople to do some shopping at Walmart (my new favorite place 🙂  I’m getting used to speed shopping as they usually give you about 1 hour.  That’s not much time to cover a super Walmart but I had my shopping list and stayed focused.

We went ashore for happy hour in the evening and made sure to get there early enough to eat some appetizers.  There’s nothing like a group of cruisers descending on appetizers–you can almost hear the huge sucking sound as they are inhaled.

thanksgiving-spreadThis morning we baked an apple crumble dessert for the Thanksgiving meal.  The spread of food was spectacular and delicious.  They roasted some oysters before the meal and I managed to eat a few.  I was afraid of using the oyster knife (not good with sharp instruments) so I acted helpless and got a few opened for me.  A local reporter was there from Jacksonville to record the event.  I was interviewed and will watch the 6pm news to see if I’m on TV.  (Yes, I was on the news report on the clip titled St. Mary’s Cruisers— saying that I’m from Baltimore!)

After gorging ourselves on turkey, fixings and desserts we took a walk and settled back on the boat for afternoon naps.  I don’t think we’ll be eating anything else today…or ever…

img_1965

 

 

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

